Back With A Splash: Juicing Watermelon

watermelon

Hi Everyone!!  This has been my first blog post in a few weeks.  I have been tied up with some exciting new things happening at the clinic that I will announce very soon and I finished writing my next article for WO Magazine, due out this fall.

For today’s recipe post I thought I’d come back with a big slash and, naturally, I’m referring to green juice.

It’s watermelon season… but rather than toss your watermelon rinds did you know you can juice them.  The green and white parts of the watermelon contain the highest nutrient content.

For those of you who have juicers at home, you can combine juicing watermelon rinds with your other greens such as celery, cucumber, kale, swiss chard, collard greens or fresh herbs like parsley or dill.  The watermelon gives the green juice a refreshing flavour without the unopposed fruit sugar.

Often, juicers enjoy including sweet flavoured ingredients into their juices, like apples, carrots and other fruit.  However, it is important to consider that too much fruit juice, even fresh made, can spike blood sugar.

Go with green veggie juices.  That’s where it’s at.  Green vegetable based juices help to neutralize body chemistry, are rich with minerals that we need to combat stress and they do not spike blood sugar.

Are you curious to learn more about juicing or healthy eating?  Feel free to email me your questions anytime at drlaura@winhealth.ca and I’d be happy to help.

Leave a Reply

