The Real Deal: My Berry Smoothie

IMG_4295[1] copy

Banana, berries, dates, coconut oil, spinach, hemp & chia seed. A power breakfast or snack, any day!

For the next few Mondays I’m going to be featuring smoothies that are whole food based.  This is me shedding light on how simple and easy it is to make a healthy, nutrient dense, 100% plant based smoothie.

Many of you know that one of my favourite past times is recipe research.  I enjoy sniffing out a great recipe that I can enjoy and share with all of you on my blog.  I also will research recipes to use in my work with my patients when I am designing custom nutrition plans.  It’s great to take a nutrition wish list and, “poof,” design a custom nutrition plan to take them to the next level in their health.

Recently, I was researching healthy smoothie recipes for a plan and I was taken aback by what was being labelled as “healthy.”  I came across one “healthy,” vegan smoothie recipe that added a teaspoon of sugar.  Really!?  Sugar?

Now… you follow my blog, so you know that’s so not necessary…But I digress…

As I flipped through the smoothie recipes in my search I kept finding that each one was missing something or just slightly off the mark.  So… I thought… Ok… I’m going to put some of my own smoothie recipes out into the cyber universe and maybe these recipes turn out being helpful or informative.

So… here’s numero uno of my smoothie recipe series.  Enjoy!

Green Berry Smoothie

1 frozen or fresh banana

1 handful, or more, of frozen berries

1 handful baby spinach, or baby kale, or a baby kale/spinach/swiss chard mix 😉

1 tbsp coconut oil

2 tbsp hemp seeds

1 tbsp chia seeds

1-2 medjool dates, pitted

1-2 cups Water

Blend.  Adjust quantity of water based on texture preference.  Enjoy

*This smoothie uses whole hemp and chia seeds as a source of protein rather than using a manufactured protein powder.  The coconut oil adds a serving of healthy fats.  Also, the dates are used to naturally sweeten the smoothie while also being high in fiber, which helps to stabilize our blood sugar rather than spike it.  Finally, the greens are a great way to add some veggies to your morning and alkalinize your body pH.

 

Leave a Reply

