Me & The Minimalists: Key Lime Darlings

tarts

Since the hubby and I resolved at the beginning of January to get back on track with healthy eating we’ve been making sure a plentiful amount of daily greens are in effect.  The days have been mighty full through the month of January.  I have been meaning to make us some very healthy treats for a while and I finally got my chance!

Ever since I did my healthy holiday treats post back in December, I have been eyeing those pretty Key Lime Tarts from the Minimalist Baker.  The look sooooo lovely… and the fresh flavour of lime is perfectly aligned with our efforts to keep up our healthy eating.

The recipe for these little gems called for a variety of options for the crust.  I opted for a grain free crust and used a classic and easy nut and date mixture.  The filling whipped up like a dream.  This recipe was so simple I enlisted the help of my munchkins. Here’s my version of the Vegan Key Lime Pie Tarts.

FIRST – SOAK RAW CASHEWS 

This recipe has one element that needs to be prepared ahead of time.  The dairy free filling is made from cashews, so to get that creaminess, the cashews have to be softened through soaking.  Raw cashews are available at the Bulk Barn and at some grocery stores.  They need to be soaked for 4-8 hours in water.  Soak 1 cup of cashews in enough water to cover them.

MAKE THE CRUST – GRAIN FREE OPTION

A grain free crust is to easy to make and works in these types of tarts.  The recipe from the Minimalist Baker makes about 24-28 small tarts.  With the recipe below I was able to make enough crust for all the tarts.

1 cup almonds, walnuts, pecans or a mix of these… *Food Adventure Option: we were a bit scarce on nuts at the time so crossed my fingers and threw in pumpkin seeds (1/4 cup) with pecans (1/4 cup) and it worked wonderfully!  After doing this, I’m certain you can use a mix of nuts and the heartier seeds like sunflower and pumpkin if you needed to.

+ 1 cup medjool dates

Place ingredients in food processor and process until the dates and nuts/seeds turn into a fine, grainy mixture that holds together when you pinch it.

crust

PUT CRUST IN TART SHELLS

My oldest son was pleased as punch to help me make these tarts.  I scooped 1 teaspoon of the date mixture into each shell and he pressed them down.

filling

MAKE THE FILLING (Dr. Laura’s Version)

1 cup cashews, soaked

1/2 cup coconut milk, from the can.  Mix it well to combine the coconut cream and coconut water.

1/2 cup coconut oil

Juice from 3 regular limes

1/3 cup maple syrup

Throw everything in blender and blend until smooth.

FILL THE TARTS

Pour filling into tart shell.

FREEZE

These tarts set in the freezer.  Once they are frozen you can take them out of the tart pan and store them in the freezer or the fridge.

You can eat them chilled or leave them out on the countertop for a little bit to thaw before enjoying them!

tarts

THE VERDICT: These tarts were everything I imagined them to be!  They are sub-LIME little bites of dreaminess.  The cashew cream was silky and rich.  The tarts taste delightfully sweet and sour.  I have to add that this recipe was so simple to make!  Whenever I can get the kids involved it’s a sure sign of a simple, straightforward recipe.  Don’t you love it when healthy eating is simple and yummy? 😉

Leave a Reply

