Balsamic Glazed Mushrooms

IMG_3407[1] copy 2

Here’s a quick little recipe that I tested this weekend.  I was thinking that it had been a while since I made a mushroom side dish.  I took to Pinterest to find this dandy little recipe: Paleo Sauteed Mushrooms.

I thought this was a quick and easy recipe that seemed flavourful… what’s not to love about balsamic vinegar?  However, I had a chuckle when I saw it called for bacon fat.  I know, I know… everything is better with bacon.  But this is a health blog, for goodness sake!  lol.  And truly… and there is an easy and healthy substitution for bacon fat for this particular recipe: vegetable or chicken stock.  Stock offers tons of flavour while helping the cooking process.

Here’s my version:

– 3 packs of sliced cremini mushrooms (or about 3 cups of chopped whole mushrooms of your choice)

– 1/2 cup Veggie Stock

– 1 tbsp olive oil

– 1 onion, chopped

– 1 garlic clove, minced (or more if you love garlic)

– Sprinkle of sea salt

– 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

 

I started out by sautéing the onions and garlic in the olive oil and a little veggie stock.  Once the onions and garlic are nice a brown I added the mushrooms and a little more veggie stock to prevent everything from sticking to the pan.  As the stock reduced I kept adding a little bit until the mushrooms were cooked down and tender.  At the end I added the balsamic vinegar and stirred it all together to combine it well.  Then I tasted it and added a little sea salt to taste.

This recipe took me less than 10 minutes to make!  So fast and so tasty!  We really enjoyed this recipe and I felt it was a definite keeper.

Leave a Reply

