Quick Shrimp & Veggie Chowder

soup

At our house we love our chowder!  There’s something really complete about a bowl of hearty soup!

After a day of work one day, I picked up my boys from summer camp and we discussed what to have for dinner.  With two growing kids, the topic of food is one we discuss a lot.  On this day I was surprised to hear my oldest son’s request for a veggie chowder I made months ago.  He was describing it in detail… “You know, mommy, the one with the little bits of corn and carrots.  The white soup that you make.”

It was 4:30 and I thought… hmmm… that can be a pretty time intensive soup.  How can I make it using some short cuts?

So far, I’ve posted two variations on this meal idea.  I prefer to skip the dairy in a chowder and use a blended base consisting of cauliflower or white beans.

On this day I had a few ingredients in my pantry that I always keep for these types of spur of the moment meal ideas.  I was able to pull of a tasty chowder in 30 minutes, which was right on time for a 5:00 dinner.  Here’s how it went down…

 

Staples:

2 cans of white beans

1 carton of organic veggie stock

2 carrots, peeled & chopped

2 stalks of celery, chopped

1 small onion, chopped

Olive Oil

frozen corn, add desired amount

frozen peas, add desired amount

frozen cooked shrimp, defrosted, add desired amount (optional)

Spices & Seasonings: Paprika

 

Steps to Prep:

1) First thing… If adding shrimp, prepare it first… let them defrost as per the package instructions for “quick defrost.”

2) In a soup pot I added the white beans and the veggie stock.  I let this simmer for 10-20 min.

3) In a second soup pot I sautéed the carrots, celery and onion in a little olive oil and a splash of veggie stock for about 10 minutes until tender.

4) Once the veggies were tender, I added the shrimp*, corn and peas and sautéed a few minutes until they were evenly heated.

5) While the veggies were finishing up, I transferred the bean and stock mixture to my blender and blended it in a couple batches until smooth.

6) Then I poured the blended soup into the pot with the veggies.  I gave it a good stir to combine everything.  Then seasoned with paprika and served.

* This soup can easily be made without the shrimp for a vegan option.

Quick, easy, simple… a veggie rich and fiber full wholesome meal that everyone gobbled up!

Xavier

Gulping down soup, keeping it real in the hamburger shirt! lol!

 

4 comments

  1. Claudia · August 11, 2014

    Yum!! This looks delicious! Can’t wait to try it. Thank you for sharing!

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · August 11, 2014

      My pleasure, lil mama! 🙂 It’s a keeper!

  2. Greg B. · August 11, 2014

    Good morning Laura, Cute story…reminds me when my daughter was that age! Cheers, -Greg

    Date: Mon, 11 Aug 2014 09:15:40 +0000 To: performancecarecenter@hotmail.ca

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · August 11, 2014

      Thanks Greg! They just dive right into their food! 🙂

Leave a Reply

