I Heart Avocados

Avocado-Recipes

Maybe it was the April Vegan Challenge, maybe it was just always the case, but I’m in the middle of a whirlwind love of avocados right now.  I find them versatile to use, highly nutritious and (strangely) one of my healthy comfort foods.  Their rich quality makes them a delight to add to anything!

I wanted to share this awesome post from Fitsugar that highlights nine awesome recipes for avocados.  I think I’ve tried all of these at least once, which is why I was so impressed to see Lizzie Fuhr write a super smart nutrition article that illustrated the diverse and delicious ways avocados can be prepared.

To check out the recipes click here:  9 Healthy Avocado Recipes to Enjoy All Day Long!

 

4 comments

  1. Sarah Phillips · May 5, 2014

    I find I’m loving them too but it still scares my husband that I’m eating them to lose weight when they are so high in fat

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · May 5, 2014

      Hi Sarah!

      Great question! It’s true that saturated fat (animal sources, processed food) will not help but good fats/health fats are essential to help weight loss by increasing satiation and feeding the body what it needs for energy and hormonal needs. Check out this article, it’s a great review of this: http://www.canadianliving.com/health/prevention/eating_fat_to_lose_fat_2.php

  2. jayne steinschifter · May 5, 2014

    Dr Laura,

    Loving all your articles ,recipes, and interesting health information!! Thanks! BTW, I have learned to Love avocados too!

    Great work!

    On Monday, May 5, 2014, Every WIN-ning Moment wrote:

    > Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) posted: ” Maybe it was the April > Vegan Challenge, maybe it was just always the case, but I’m in the middle > of a whirlwind love of avocados right now. I find them versatile to use, > highly nutritious and (strangely) one of my healthy comfort foods. Their > rich q”

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · May 6, 2014

      Hi Jayne!

      Thanks for sharing your feedback! I’m so glad to hear you are finding this information helpful. Keep up the great work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

