Vegan Challenge Menu – Week 1

go-vegan

Onward we go!!!

We are so excited to start our Vegan Challenge for April!  In this post you will find our menu for week one.  The menu is in PDF format.  If there is any difficulties with the file, please feel free to contact me about it at drlaura@winhealth.ca.

Here are a few things to know… as I prep food for the week, this is what I find helps me get it done.

1) Recipe Flexibility

You’ll find my recipes and inspiration below for some of the more specific recipes.  Sometimes I don’t follow a recipe to the letter. Rather, I use the ingredients I have on hand, or the ones we prefer, to make the dish.  Personally, I have found this method of meal preparation to be more flexible and fun.

2) Resource Recipe vs Inspriation

After each menu I will list all the more specific meal options (e.g. Silky Black Bean Soup).  You will notice the listing will either say “Recipe” or “Inspiration.”  The meals with “recipes” are ones I have made following a recipe pretty closely.  The “inspirations” are meals that I have made that have been inspired by a recipe or picture but made a VEGAN variation of it.

3) Dinner is Lunch

Time is of the essence for everyone!  This is why I love left overs.  A healthy dinner meal makes a great lunch option for the next day.  I pack it up, put it in the fridge and we are good to go for lunches in the morning.

4) Green Juice <–> Green Smoothies

Dr. Ernie and I will be having green juice daily.  This is completely optional… just something we’ve thrown in and included for those who enjoy juicing.  Alternatively, a green smoothie can be substituted.

5) Follow me on Twitter to see us in action!  Post Comments!  Let’s make it interactive!

I’ll be posting little tidbits about food prep, our feelings about the meals we’ve planned (keeping it real!) and other helpful hints as we go along.

Also, I welcome comments on the menu posts… I’ll respond to any questions or concerns you have while we go… posting your comment on the blog will help everyone.  This will also make it an interactive experience.

 

Check out VC MENU: Week 1 here: Vegan Challenge Menu Week 1

 

Here are some helpful recipe resources:

Chia Pudding recipe

– I use almond milk + add 1 tsp vanilla

– After overnight refrigeration, use a fork and whisk the thickened pudding to give it a smooth consistency.

Chocolate Cherry Smoothie inspiration

True Green Smoothie recipe

Pina Colada Smoothie inspiration

Quinoa & Kale Minestrone inspiration

Ultimate Vegan Quesadilla inspiration

One Pot Vegan Pasta inspiration

Baked Chinese Eggplant

Arugula Quinoa Crust Pizza recipe

– Skipping the cheese and topping this with tomato sauce, arugula and olives

Arugula & Roasted Tomato pasta inspiration

Chocolate Pudding recipe

Vegan Banana Split recipe

— Try making vegan vanilla ice cream… there are tons of recipes for this on Pinterest.  Here’s a great, simple easy one I found (option: substitute vanilla bean for vanilla extract).  Alternatively, purchase a dairy free ice cream.

— Place a dollop of ice cream between a banana, sliced lengthwise, and sprinkle with chopped strawberries and pineapple.  🙂

Kale Chips recipe (there are so many variations… explore Pinterest for more recipes).

Pecan Pie Squares recipe

 

 

6 comments

  1. itsmesjp · March 31, 2014

    Just made my chia pudding using the almond milk and vanilla with some strawberries ready for the morning. Wow 58% of daily fat allowance I’m assuming its the good kind!?

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · March 31, 2014

      Hi! Great to hear you are set to go with your chia pudding! Way to go! The challenge focuses on using healthy whole food ingredients and making healthy choices rather than tracking these parameters. Also, this is good fat. Our bodies thrive when we consume good sources of plant based essential fatty acids.

  2. Leanne · March 31, 2014

    Dr. Laura and Dr. Ernie. Love that you are doing this challenge and encouraging so many people to join you. I tried the green juice for breakfast this morning and much to my surprise it was lovely! I did add a small cap of Chlorophyll to the juice…is that ok? Looking further to chia pudding Tuesday!

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · March 31, 2014

      Hi Leanne,

      I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the green juice. Liquid Chlorophyll is great and it certainly contributes to your nutrient intake. Good stuff! Green juice + chlorophyll will add to the spring in your step today. 🙂

  3. itsmesjp · April 1, 2014

    Another new fav to satisfy a sweet craving … That chocolate pudding was fantastic!

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · April 1, 2014

      Glad you enjoyed it! It’s one of my all time favourites, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

