Quick DIY Mexican Meal

th

Fiesta Food!

I’ve posted some Mexican food recipes in the past because I find they are fresh, tasty and easy to make.  I wanted to prepare a quick and easy dinner for me and my boys.  I remembered back to my friend’s awesome Fish Tacos that were made when I was on my ski trip and I thought we could do a version of that!

Many kids love helping out in the kitchen, especially when it comes to making food.  I get my kids in the kitchen to help out with making food as often as possible… and with this meal they would get to jump in and make their own DIY dinner.

I set up my usual toppings bar in little bowls with spoons:

– Salsa

– Guacamole

– Seasoned ground turkey (Homemade seasoning added at the end of cooking: 2 tsp chilli powder, 1 tsp paprika, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp cumin)

– Black beans

– Shredded lettuce

– Chopped Tomato

– Ezekiel Bread Tortillas

– Shredded Cheese (optional)

Other options: grilled veggies, sautéed mushrooms, roasted red pepper, corn, artichokes, black olives…the possibilities are endless!

We all gathered around and I let the boys put their toppings on the tortilla.  Then I helped them roll it up and they had a great time eating their DIY dinner.

This is not only a great dinner for kids, but it’s a quick and easy dinner for adults, too.  After a work day, this mainly no cook meal (aside from the meat) can be thrown together in less than 15 minutes.  Add a salad or a vegetable side dish (e.g. we had cooked broccoli and cucumber slices) and this adds more nutrient density to complete the meal.

Life is good when healthy food is simple, fun and yummy! 🙂

3 comments

  1. Danielle Smith · March 3, 2014

    I love that this meal looks so easy, fast and most importantly yummy! Do you have any difficulty with the Ezekiel tortillas breaking? If so, do you have a trick to stop this from happening? Also, what is a good salsa to buy?

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · March 3, 2014

      Hi Danielle!

      Yes, the Ezekiel tortillas can break… they aren’t as malleable as wheat tortillas. I find if don’t roll them as tightly as a wheat tortilla, they don’t break. For the kids, I have done flat/folded pocket on occasion if I sensed they might have trouble holding or eating a rolled one. If putting everything in the tortilla is still a concern, I’ve also baked it for a few minutes in the oven in a round oven safe dish. This hardens it to make a “tortilla bowl”… then the toppings can be put inside it and the tortilla can be broken off to scoop it up. …or I’ve cut it up and baked it and we’ve used them like chips to scoop everything up, too. Lots of options… depends on the day. 🙂

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · March 3, 2014

      ..ooops… salsa… I like any salsa that has a short ingredient list and uses all whole food ingredients.

Leave a Reply

