Zesty Jalapeño Corn Chowder

bowl

I had a lovely ski adventure this weekend with some friends.  We had so much fun on our skis and it’s always great to get outside and make the most of this winter weather.

One night, we planned to stay in and cook dinner.  Our friend makes a mean Fish Taco, so when that was suggested we were all thrilled.  I wanted to contribute in some way, so I thought is would be fun to make a Mexican starter dish that would compliment the Fish Tacos.  I thought… Zesty Jalapeño Corn Chowder!  It would be a great way to warm us up after a long day of skiing in the cold weather.

It was a hit!  Our friends enjoyed it and that’s a sure sign that this recipe deserves to be shared.

Here’s my recipe for this great dish!

Zesty Jalapeño Corn Chowder

For the Base…

1 white onion

1 tbsp olive oil or coconut oil

2 cloves garlic, minced or grated with a microplane

1-2 potatoes, chopped into small cubes

1/2 head cauliflower (or 1 whole cauliflower if you want to omit potatoes), chopped into small pieces

1/2 teaspoon oregano

1/2 teaspoon thyme

1/2 sea salt

2 cups stock (veggie or chicken) — or use water in place of stock if preferred

2 cups water

For the tasty additions:

1 bell pepper, finely chopped

1 carrot, peeled and finely chopped

1 celery stalk, finely chopped

1 cup button mushrooms, chopped

1 jalapeño pepper, seeds removed, finely chopped

1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, finely chopped

1 bag of Non-GMO frozen Corn

1 can coconut milk

Juice from 1-2 limes

* Black Pepper – add to increase heat if desired

Procedure:

I love to sautee the base vegetables of the soup with the dried herbs or spices I’m using.  I do this right at the start of the recipe because this really activates the flavours of the herbs and spices.  The longer dried herbs and spices cook, the more they can infuse the dish with their lovely flavour.

First, sautee the garlic, onions, oil, salt, oregano and thyme in a soup pot until onions are slightly translucent.  I add a little bit of stock here to help prevent the mixture from sticking to the bottom of the pot.

photo 1 copy

Then I added the potatoes and cauliflower.  I mixed everything well together so the vegetables were coated with the herbs.  I sautéed these on medium high heat for a few minutes to help combine the flavours.

photo 4 copy

It’s getting steamy in here! 🙂

Next, I added the stock and the water.  Then simmered everything on medium heat until the veggies were soft.  I stirred it occasionally to prevent the bottom veggies from burning.

photo 5 copy

Once the veggies were soft, I pureed the entire base.  You can do this right in the pot with an immersion blender or use a standing blender, in batches.  I added a bit of water to get the base to the thickness I wanted.  You can make this chowder base as you please.

photo 2 copy

Tasty Additions

photo 3 copy

Chipotle Pepper in Adobo Sauce

With the pureed soup base in the pot, I turned the stove back on to a low to medium heat and added the carrots, mushrooms, celery, jalapeño and chipotle peppers.  I let these veggies simmer for about 15-20 minutes until they were soft.

soup1

Once they were soft I added the frozen corn and let it cook for about 3-5 minutes.  Then I added the can of coconut milk and gave it a good stir to mix the coconut milk in well.

Finally, I topped it off with a splash of lime juice.  Add the lime juice a little at a time, and stir it in.  Taste it and notice if it’s to your liking or if you want to add more.  At this time you can also adjust the seasonings by adding some black pepper if more heat is preferred or a little more salt to taste.

bowl

This recipe is a little more of a labour of love, but it’s a fantastic recipe that will be loved!

Leave a Reply

