Indian Vegetable Korma

photo 4 copy

I had a rare moment today where my kitchen chakras aligned and I finally made my first Indian dish at home from scratch.  I love Indian food, and I only get to enjoy it if I have the chance to dine at an Indian restaurant.  This happens once, maybe twice a year.  It’s not often that I go, but I’m always dreaming up ways I can get my hands on some Indian food.

When I’ve looked at recipes, I’ve been a bit reluctant to take on an Indian dish.  I have expectations about how a dish should turn out based on my restaurant experience.  Plus, with all the exotic spices the recipes usually call for, I didn’t know how well it would go in my kitchen.

Low and behold… today was the day it happened…and it worked out!

I have to preface this by saying I’ve been doing my dreaming research for a while now.  I first spotted Jamie Oliver’s Vegetable Korma recipe back when I posted his Moorish Crunch Salad.  I loved Jamie’s recipe, but his called for a pre-made Korma paste and yogurt.  It looked delish, but I wanted a dairy free recipe with the flavouring made from scratch.

So I kept looking….. there are soooo many ways to make Korma.  There are purists that use 7-10 different spices to achieve the flavour for the dish.  Then there the recipes that call for Korma sauce in a jar.  Working from a few different recipes, and then tweaking mine in the end to get it the way I like it, I came up with this recipe.  It makes a hearty Korma that is bursting with flavour.

This recipe doesn’t have heat added to it, so it can be enjoyed by those who don’t like hot spicy dishes.  Also, because it’s not hot, it’s a great way to introduce these flavours to kids.  Both my kids (aged four and two) gobbled it up, and it was the first time they’ve tried something like this.  That’s a good sign.

Don’t be held back by the look of this recipe.  It was truly very easy and quick to make.  In total it took me 30 minutes from start to finish…10 minutes prep + 20 minutes cooking time.  If you haven’t used these spices do not be afraid.  Just go for it!  Also, if you don’t have these spices on hand and aren’t interested in stocking them consider visiting the Bulk Barn and just purchase the small amounts needed for this recipe.

This recipe is definitely worth trying!

Here’s my recipe:

Indian Vegetable Korma

1 onion, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

1/2 cauliflower head (or 1 small cauliflower), chopped

3 small ripe tomatos

1 cup frozen peas

1 cup butternut squash (cubed), or sweet potato or regular potato

1 cup raw cashews (available at the Bulk Barn)

2-3 cups water or stock (veg, chicken, turkey)

1 tbsp curry powder

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp tumeric

1 tsp garam masala

2 cans coconut milk

2 tbsp tomato paste

1-2 tsp sea salt to taste

1 tbsp lemon juice

Preparation:

In a deep sauce pan or soup pot, over medium heat, brown the onions in the olive oil for about 3 minutes.  Then add in the all the vegetables, cashews, water and the dried spices.  Stir well to coat all the vegetables with the spices.  Simmer on medium heat with the lid on for 10 minutes.  Stir occasionally to prevent burning.

photo 5 copy

Then add the coconut milk, tomato paste and salt.  Stir again to ensure all the ingredients are well combined.  Continue simmering with the lid on for 10 minutes.  Stir occasionally to prevent burning.

Stirring also helps to break down the ingredients and thicken the “gravy” base of the dish.  Cook well until all the vegetables are tender and the liquid added has thickened.  Note: you can add more or less liquid (water or broth) toward the end of the cooking stage depending on how soupy or thick you want the gravy.

Add the lemon juice and stir one last time.  Serve alone or over rice.

photo 1 copy

Super amazing easy authentic Indian food dish…at home!  Yippee!

2 comments

  1. Lori Maurin · February 4, 2014

    I tried this tonight and it was a delicious change. Great for meatless Mondays!
    Thanks,
    Lori

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · February 5, 2014

      Hi Lori… That’s great! Keep up the amazing work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

