Crunchy “Moorish” Salad

salad

I love Jamie Oliver’s recipes.  I find that he uses simple ingredients and makes the most extraordinary things.  Plus, he’s a veggie lover, so I always find the neatest ideas from his veg recipes.  He infuses interesting flavours and textures into mostly everything he creates.  Love it!

This weekend I made his “Moorish Crunch Salad.”  I put my own spin on it, and it turned out great!

This is definitely a salad I’ll make for our holiday parties.  It was easy, full of life and colour and it tasted delicious!

Here’s my twist on it:

2 cups carrots, peeled and cut into matchsticks

1 cup radishes, thinly sliced

2 Royal Gala apples, thinly sliced

1 handful raisins

1 handful parsley, rinsed, dried and thinly chopped

4 tbsp red wine vinegar

8 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp tahini

1 tsp sea salt

sesame seeds (option: toast in a dry pan)

Preparation:

Chop and combine veggies, apple, parsley and raisins in a bowl.  In a separate bowl combine vinegar, oil, tahini and sea salt.  Whisk to emulsify wet ingredients.  Pour over salad and mix well.  Sprinkle with sesame seeds.

… It’s recommended to serve and eat this immediately, but we enjoyed it the next day, too.  By day three everything was starting to break down and get a bit mushy.  Even on day three my hubby was still raving about it.  However, if you are serving this for guests or bringing it to a party, it’s much prettier the day it’s prepared.  I also didn’t have time to toast the sesame seeds, but I definitely would try this as toasted sesame seeds add a subtle, but great flavour to the dish.

Happy Holiday Food Prep! 🙂

Leave a Reply

