Healthy Homemade Breadcrumbs

4

‘Tis the season for comfort food… But even when it’s not, I find great recipes that call for breadcrumbs.  Sure, the festive stuffing, battered nibbles and baked dishes beckon for breadcrumbs, but a light dusting of seasoned breadcrumbs can jazz up a simple chicken or fish filet, too.

Store bought seasoned breadcrumbs often contain things in the ingredient list that makes me cringe…extra sodium, artificial flavouring agents, preservatives, sugar… it can be hard to find manufactured seasoned breadcrumbs that are just seasoned breadcrumbs.

So… when I had a moment to ponder breadcrumbs the simple solution came to mind: make them myself.  How hard could it be?

It was actually super simple!  I wish I had started doing this years ago!

1

My recipe begins with a few slices of sprouted grain Ezekiel Bread.

I really like using sprouted grain bread.  This bread is nutritionally superior to regular multigrain bread and because of the way its made, using old school bread making techniques, it’s easier to digest and less allergenic than 100% whole wheat or multigrain bread.

I toasted the bread in the oven on a cookie sheet until they were crispy.

Then I broke the bread up into pieces and threw it in my food processor.

2

Then I processed the bread until it was finely ground.

3

Four pieces of bread made about 1 cup of bread crumbs.  To this I added 1 tsp of each: himalayan sea salt, garlic powder, dried oregano, dried basil, dried sage and dried thyme.

Mixed it all up and I had a quick, easy and flavourful homemade breadcrumbs.

For those interested in making 100% gluten free breadcrumbs (as Ezekiel Bread is not gluten free), you can process crispy rice cereal in a food processor and then use the same seasonings.  This works out surprisingly well, too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

