Tomato Soup… Mmm, Mmm, Good!

photo copy

When I was a student and living away from home I lived on Campbell’s tomato soup, among other things (bagels and cream cheese, kraft sidekicks and muffins).  Needless to say I wasn’t the healthiest at that time in my life, and I really wish someone could have shown me how easy it was to make an even more delicious and highly nutritious tomato soup!

This is one of my most favourite recipes for tomato soup.  It’s pure comfort food and it’s super healthy.  I love it and my family loves it.  It’s our early fall favourite while tomatoes are still in season.  It also has that great tomato flavour when I use heirloom tomatoes  during the winter months.  Heirloom tomatoes can be found at most grocery stores, are nice and dense and are full of flavour.

Here’s my recipe!  I hope you enjoy it!

1 onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tbsp fresh ginger, minced (I use a microplane to get it really fine)

3 carrots, peeled and chopped

6 tomatoes, chopped coarsely

1 red bell pepper, chopped coarsely

2 cups water

1 cup almond milk

2 tsp dried basil

2 tsp paprika

1 tsp salt

1 tsp powdered thyme

To Begin… Sautee in a large pan or in soup pot a little olive oil (2 tbsp) the onions, garlic and ginger on medium heat.  Cook until translucent and golden.

Add the carrots and continue cooking until carrots are slightly browned.

Add tomatos and peppers and continue to cook, with lid on.  Stir often to prevent burning.  Cook until tomatoes are soft.

Transfer all cooked veggies to a blender in batches and blend until smooth.  Transfer blended veggies back to soup pot.

To soup pot with blended veggies… add water, almond milk, herbs and spices.  Simmer on low-medium heat about 5-10 minutes to infuse the soup with the flavours from the herbs and spices.

And there you have it!  Enjoy! 🙂

Options for this soup are…

– Add a little more or a little less water to get to your desired thickness or thinness for the soup

– Serve on its own, or mix in some cooked brown rice, quinoa or millet

– Cooked chickpeas or lentils can also be mixed into the soup to make it even heartier

– Other veggies can be cooked in and blended with the soup to increase vegetable content like a little cauliflower, butternut squash or celery

2 comments

  1. Christine N · November 4, 2013

    I love this article for the simple fact that it clearly states the exact dilemma I had – so much information about and so many supplements for vitamins and minerals that all claim to be the best that I was overwhelmed and confused. Plus, you can spend a lot of money on supplements you believe will make you feel great and, as you said, end up with a counter full of them yet they are not working to your benefit. This is exactly why I booked appointment with you, my NP, for educated/expert advise on which vitamins and supplements I should be taking. Thanks for saving me money in the long run and feeling more healthy and vibrant by taking just what I needed per your advise. C 🙂

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · November 4, 2013

      Thanks Christine! Keep up the great work, you’re doing great! Enjoy the soup! 🙂

Leave a Reply

