Chowin’ Down on Chowder!

dory

“Finding Nemo” and soup.. two staples in our home! Dare I say Pinterest becomes a third? It’s all for the health of our family! 🙂

Just keep pinning… Just keep pinning… just keep pinning, pinning, pinning…

This is our soup season.  I love making hearty, meal in a bowl soups for my family to enjoy.  I am always looking for inspiration for new recipes and those who know me know that I love trolling the internet for delicious recipes that I can tweak and make healthy.

I joined the world of Pinterest a little while back not realizing until recently the massive potential this site could offer me when it came to acquiring health recipes.  I was mainly using Pinterest to look for neat DIY home project ideas, but then saw that I could search food, too!  I was a little slow on the uptake, but of course foodies around the globe would go to this site to contribute to the collage of amazing recipes.  It’s a one stop recipe shop!

I joined a recipe “Board” that’s all about soup.  I am getting so much great inspiration from the amazing recipes coming my way.  I’ll be sure to share them with you as we venture into the fall and winter.

Here’s one that I was really excited to share with all of you today!  It’s for a chowder recipe that I modified to suit our liking based on a chowder I saw on Pinterest.  Side note… I realize it’s a little ironic to be featuring Dory and Chowder in the same post.  Sorry Dory!  We love you and you are not an ingredient in this recipe!

Here’s the recipe…

soup

CORN & LENTIL CHOWDER

I got my inspiration for this dish from here: Sweet Corn, Peppered Bacon & Shrimp Chowder.  Although this recipe looks like a foodies delight, I wanted to tone it down a bit.  I omitted the bacon and upped the veggies.  Here’s what I did…

4 cups of vegetable or chicken broth

1 head of cauliflower

2 medium zucchinis, peeled

2-3 cups frozen corn

2-3 cups lentils (cooked from dried, or rinsed well if from a can)

2 tsp paprika

2 tsp sea salt

I started out by washing and preparing the cauliflower and zucchini.  I chopped both coarsely and added them both to a pot of boiling water.  I cooked them for about ten minutes until they were tender but not mushy.  The strained them of the water.

Next I blended the cooked veggies in a little broth in batches in my blender.  Then I transferred the blended veggies to a large soup pot and added the rest of the broth.

This thickened the broth without adding potato, which is part of many chowders.  I have an intolerance to potatoes so I avoid them.  Also, adding the blended cauliflower and zucchini to the broth to thicken it are a great way to get all of us to eat more veggies.

Then I turned on the stove and simmered the broth.  I added the frozen corn and simmered it until cooked.  At the end I added the lentils, paprika and salt and simmered a few more minutes.

As an option… I added cooked shrimp.  The original recipe had shrimp in it, my family loves shrimp, so I though I’d add it.  However, this soup can be enjoyed as is, without any meat.  It was great even before I added the shrimp.  I cooked some shrimp in a separate pan and added it at the end to the soup.

This made a really delicious soup that was rich in flavour, vegetables and fiber.  My kids loved it and I was happy that it was an easy recipe that made a really hearty soup.  I’ll definitely make it again!

Leave a Reply

