Healthy Nutella Recipe!

photo copy

Ahhh… The Avengers! You’ll stop at nothing to get a bite of my yummy natural chocolate hazelnut spread. Those super powers come in handy, don’t they!

 

Ok… so who knows what Nutella is?  Or should I ask… who doesn’t?

A few words – Nutella.  Total. Chocolate. Dreaminess.

As I kid I would do back flips when my mom brought this home from the grocery store.  My mom would have to hide it from my sister and I because we would sneak a scoop, sans bread and outside of a “healthy breakfast” or other meal (…as a kid I’d go for a Nutella sandwich for dinner any day!).

As a chocolate lover I can appreciate how amazing Nutella is to the senses.  As a Naturopathic Doctor I cringe at the ingredients.  I honestly don’t know how Nutella was able to tote it’s “part of a healthy breakfast” image for so long before someone called them on it!  Looking at the ingredient list I see it contains loads of sugar and hydrogenated oils.

I have always had the idea floating around in my mind to try making my own Nutella at home.  Over the years I have seen recipes for homemade chocolate hazelnut spread that was healthy.  I recently got the green light one day and whipped some up!  I combined a few different recipes to suit my liking and came up with a chocolate spread that was super delicious!

It was so easy to make!  It’s rich, chocolaty and totally not cringeworthy! 🙂

Homemade Nutella Recipe

1 cup hazelnuts

1/3 cup maple syrup

1 heaping tbsp cinnamon

1/3 cup raw cacao powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp sea salt

1/3 cup almond milk

Process hazelnuts in a food processor with a “S” blade until very fine.  Alternatively, for a super fine nut flour, process in a spice or coffee grinder.

In a food processor with an “S” blade, add the ground hazelnuts.  Then process on a medium speed while adding one ingredient at a time: maple syrup, cinnamon, cacao powder, vanilla, sea salt and almond milk.  Stop the food processor if needed to scrape sides down. Process until all ingredients are well combined.

Once completed, taste the spread.  And add ingredients to suit your liking and give the food processor another whirl with your addition… for example a little extra raw cacao for a richer chocolate flavour, more cinnamon or more almond milk to thin it out if desired.  A little extra sea salt can be added for those who love that sweet and salty flavour.

This spread can be used to top plain rice cakes, fruit of all kinds (apples, bananas, peaches, pears, berries) and Ezekiel bread (sprouted grain bread).  Now I can see this spread being a great part of a healthy breakfast or snack!

Leave a Reply

