Zucchini Latkes

Last week I was dreaming of zucchini latkes, and this weekend I made my dream a reality!

I tried my own recipe for a gluten free, dairy free zucchini latke.  Most latkes contain a little flour or call for adding cheese.  I wanted to keep mine simple, healthy and hypoallergenic so everyone can enjoy them.

yy

I’ve recived a variety of zucchinis this week.  This was timely, and I put them to good use!

zz

Here’s what I did:

I used a box grater to make thick gratings of zucchini.  When I think latkes I think nice thick pieces of grated veggies, however a thin grate like passing the zucchini through a food processor or fine hand grater will also work.

My end product yielded about 3 cups of grated zucchini.

Then I very lightly salted the zucchini gratings and let it sit for about 20 minutes.

Next, I transferred the zucchini into a fine colander and pressed it down into the colander to squeeze off any excess liquid.  This could be done just by hand also.  And yet another option is to place the gratings on paper towel and then cover with paper towel, and use the paper towel to absorb the extra fluid.

I combined the zucchini with one grated white cooking onion and 2 beaten eggs.  I didn’t season it any further because of the salt added earlier.

I heated a little olive oil on the bottom of a non-stick pan and I scooped out a little bit of batter and poured it into the pan.  I resisted making them very big because I wanted them to cook quickly and easily.

Because these latkes are flour-less, they are a bit on the delicate side.  So I cooked them on medium heat and waited for them to have a really solid cooked base before I flipped them.  Just a side bonus: The smelled wonderful as they cooked!  I cooked them for about 10-15 minutes, flipping occasionally to prevent burning and until both sides were golden brown.

x

And, ta-da!  As you can see they cooked beautifully!

y

There are so many variations on this simple recipe that I can think of… I could have added grated carrot, grated beets or chopped mushrooms.  I could have added some fresh chopped herbs like basil, dill, chives or green onions.  Also, to make a denser gluten free latke, a little chick pea flour or rice flour could have been used to thicken the batter and make a heartier latke.

My family and I loved these!  I served them with a garden cucumber salad and they made for a great accompaniment for a light healthy lunch.  I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

