Homemade Dairy Free Ice Cream

IMG_0935

My First Chocolate Peanut Butter Dairy Free Ice Cream – Super Yummy!

Summer is the season for ice cream.  With two little kids in tow… or should I specify… two ice cream loving kids… I’m preparing myself for the summer food fun.

I did a post a while back about a version of Dairy Free ice cream that was made from frozen bananas.  It’s a great recipe and requires very little to make, however since making banana ice cream for a while now, I was ready to diversify.

I love ice cream just as much as the next person… but it can leave me feeling icky.  Also, my oldest son has the worst sleep after eating ice cream.  His exceptionally restless night (thrashing about, talking in his sleep, crying out in distress) always follows a day when he has regular ice cream.

I want my kids to enjoy ice cream and gosh darn it, I want to enjoy ice cream, too!

There is this extraordinary dairy free ice cream cookbook that I came across.  It really is incredible!  The ice cream recipes turn out like just like dairy ice cream except the base is made from coconut milk and cashew milk.

The cookbook, The Spunky Coconut Dairy-Free Ice Cream Cookbook, was written by the super awesome Kelly Brozyna, a mom who has been on a quest to find and develop gluten free, casein free and sugar free recipes for her family.  This gal has done her research!  I can’t imagine how much taste testing goes on in her home, but she got these ice cream recipes down!

This woman has made my life easy.  (Thank you Kelly Brozyna!)  The only thing I did to take the leap from my frozen banana ice cream, to making amazing dairy free, gluten free and sugar free (really, the ice cream of my dreams) ice cream was to pick up a basic ice cream maker.  The many recipes in her book will keep us enjoying healthy (!!!) ice cream (OMG…this seems like a total oxymoron) all summer long.

I made my first batch based on inspiration from her book because I live in a home with die-hard chocolate-peanut butter fans.  I used Kelly’s “Sunbutter Fudge Ripple” ice cream recipe as a guide.

My next batch will likely be “Blueberry Lavender” at the request of my boy, or maybe Swiss Almond… oooo… or Strawberry… no, no, no… it’ll definitely be “Green Tea” ice cream… I love Green Tea ice cream.  … or maybe just good old Vanilla … or decadent Butter Pecan… hmmm…but there is also that Rocky Road recipe…  oh boy…the options are endless…

I highly recommend this book for all you health conscious ice cream lovers out there!  You’ll love it!

IMG_0938

Good right down to the bottom of the bowl!

Leave a Reply

