Skin We’re In

face

I recently contributed an article for publication in a local magazine on natural skin health.  More specifically, how to naturally detoxify our skin.

I thought this was a great skin health topic!  When it comes to natural skin health, often the tips involve natural creams, soaps and essentially topical remedies.  As a Naturopathic Doctor, I’ve long recognized that our skin has a deeper connection to our inner health.

Our skin is truly a mirror of what’s going on inside our bodies.  There are many factors that impact the skin such as:

1) What we eat

2) How well we detoxify

3) Inflammation

4) Our emotional state

The skin is our largest organ!  And it’s one of our five major emunctories, also known as our organs of elimination, along with our lungs, liver, intestines and kidneys.  These five organs are intrinsically linked, so of course if one is compromised then this can show in the others.

It’s refreshing to think about our skin and remember that it has a couple dozen diverse physiological functions and it’s the protective coating for all the precious life supporting vitality within us.  That’s a pretty big job, and a pretty big deal!

If you have questions about naturally getting “the glow” and having healthier skin, we have answers for you!  Naturopathic Doctors have many solutions and strategies for authentically improving skin integrity and health.  To get an individualized plan for skin health visit with myself or my colleague, Dr. Charlene Kush, at WIN Health & Rehab Centre.

5 comments

  1. Todd · May 25, 2013

    You’re so cool! I don’t think I’ve read through anything like this before. So great to find someone with some unique thoughts on this subject. Really.. thanks for starting this up. This web site is one thing that is required on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · May 27, 2013

      Hi Todd, I appreciate your comment! I really put myself in other people’s shoes when it comes to my posts. It’s important to me to get honest health information & solutions across in my posts.

      If you liked this post, you might also enjoy an article wrote that was recently published in WO magazine. You can view the article here on page 60: http://www.joomag.com/magazine/wo-magazine-spring-2013/0125017001369154623

  2. recipes for chicken · May 26, 2013

    We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your website provided us with valuable information to work on.
    You have done a formidable job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · May 27, 2013

      Hi! Thanks so much for your feedback! I’m glad you are enjoying my blog!

  3. Hey There. I discovered your weblog using msn.
    This is a really smartly written article. I will be
    sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful information.
    Thank you for the post. I will certainly return.

Leave a Reply

