Zesty Avocado Dip

photo copy

In the spirit of the Super Bowl, I’m posting this great dip that we are going to enjoy tonight for the festivities.  I don’t follow football.  We aren’t having a big Super Bowl party tonight.  But I love any opportunity to have fun and make fun food! 🙂

Here’s my fabulous, easy and healthy dip recipe!

ZESTY AVOCADO DIP

photo-1 copy

2 ripe avocados

1 bell pepper (any colour), chopped

1/2 yellow or red onion

1-2 cloves of garlic (…Depending on your want of garlic-iness… for those who want the least amount of garlic flavour, use 1 clove but boil it in water for a few minutes before adding it)

1/2 bunch fresh parsley

1/2 bunch fresh cilantro (I omitted this from my recipe because I can’t stand cilantro!  LOL!  But I know this herb typically works really well with avocado and this kind of dip, so I included it for all you cilantro lovers out there.  As an alternative, once I tasted my dip, I thought dill would work really well here.)

1/3 cup red wine vinegar or raw unpasturized apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp sea salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/4 cup olive oil

I threw it all in my food processor and zapped it into a semi-smooth dip.  Straight up, this can be served with corn chips.  It’s so versatile, since it can also be as a sauce for fajitas, chicken, veggies or grains, or used as a dip for quesadillas, raw veggies or crackers.  To make it into a sauce, just increase the amount of olive oil to thin out the consistency if needed.  When a little more olive oil is added, it also makes an AWESOME creamy salad dressing.

Yum!  I love a zesty dip like this!  Game on!

Leave a Reply

