Seaweed Salad

For the first time today, I made a Japanese food inspired seaweed salad.  Seaweed salad is one of my favourite things to order at a Japanese restaurant.  It’s not for everyone, but I really enjoy the oddly soft, but crunchy, sea vegetables dressed in a light and lovely vinaigrette.

I’ve also been hoping that this recipe would be easy and delicious, so I can make it a more regular part of my meal planning.  Sea vegetables are a very nutritious.  We are hearing more about the benefits of eating sea vegetables in our diets, and I’m sure we’re not far from seeing seaweed be labeled the next super food.  Sea vegetables, like wakame, kelp, are rich in minerals (such as iodine and magnesium), lignans (a fiber shown to be protective against breast cancer), protein and iron.

Sea vegetables are available almost anywhere.  I picked up the ones used in this recipe at Dihn Dihn, an Asian food market in St. Catharines, however you can find them at the health food store and the health food section of some grocery stores, too!

Here’s the recipe…

I used two types of seaweed… Wakame and another random type of seaweed that I couldn’t decipher what kind on the label, but I liked the way it looked so I decided to include it.

The Wakame is short and black.  The other seaweed I used was in long thin strips and was a light brown colour.

I soaked the sea veggies in warm water for about 15 minutes.  Typical recipes say 5-7 minutes but I found the veggies were to tough.

**Note:  I didn’t think of this when I started out… but the veggies E-X-P-A-N-D when soaked!  So expect to have double what you started out.

While the veggies were soaking, I whipped up an Asian inspired salad dressing (see below).

Once the veggies were done soaking, I strained off the water, patted the top of the sea vegetables with paper towel to absorb any excess water.  Then dressed it with the salad dressing.  (Note: Add more or less dressing depending on how much you’ve made and taste).

Healthy Seaweed Salad Dressing

3 tbsp rice vinegar (I didn’t have any left, so I used about 1 tbsp raw unpasteurized apple cider vinegar and about 1 tbsp red wine vinegar)

1 tbsp sesame oil

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp raw unpasteurized honey

Whisk together and use to dress seaweed salad.

And faster than you can say “Wasabi!” the seaweed salad was done.  It tasted delicious!

Leave a Reply

