Eyebrow Raised… Raw Vegan Donut Holes?

This is one of the first “healthy” treats that I made a long, long time ago.  It’s still one of my favourites.  These are Ani Phyo’s Donut Holes.

Ok, ok… so they are not at all like a Timbit… but they are really good and really easy to make.

Ani Phyo is a “raw food” recipe maven.  She has lots of different recipes on posted on YouTube.

Here are a few small changes I’ve made to her recipe…

1) Medjool Dates are the best dates to use.  These are now in season and can be easily found at most grocery stores and at the bulk food store.

2) If you can’t find dried pineapple then dried apricots, apples or cranberries work well.

3) The shredded coconut should be unsweetened.

4) I don’t worry if I can’t find the purest ingredients.  Yes, organic, sulphite free dried fruit would be lovely, but not often easy to find… so I make the recipe with what I can find and I don’t sweat it.

I thought I’d share this recipe with you because it’s very versatile.  It can be made as Ani shows.  Also, the batter can be pressed flat and then cut into bars or small squares.  It makes a great snack to take on the go, too.

Leave a Reply

