Banana Bonanza

Yahoo!  This week I found bananas on clearance!  This makes for a very good grocery day!  🙂

When I’m shopping for groceries I always look to see if the store has put the week old, brown spotty, on the verge of mushy, bananas on clearance.  I often find them at 50% off and when I do I buy a few bunches of them.

Once I get them home, I take the peels off and freeze them in ziplock bags.  This stock of frozen bananas is great for making smoothies or my favorite homemade “ice cream.”  Frozen bananas can also be thawed an used in baking recipes that call for bananas, too.

I picked up 20 (!!!) bananas.  In a house of smoothie lovers, those will take us a long way!

Leave a Reply

