Flavour of the Day: Inspired by Bobby Flay

I’ve written in past posts how I like to get inspiration for healthy dishes by re-vamping recipes done by “celebrity chefs.”  I love learning how other people work with food to create delicious dishes… and then my little brain starts to spin the recipe to make it healthy and a good fit for our lifestyle.

I have to admit… another one of my favourite chefs is Bobby Flay.  Yes, Bobby is a master meat griller and is famous for making his signature hamburgers, but I really enjoy the way he combines spices and flavours for his dressings and sauces, along with his unique side dish creations.

Today’s recipe comes from two of his recipes that I fused into one.  It was very simple, since the recipes are similar.  And with the fresh flavours in both… I couldn’t resist.

The two recipes I was inspired by was Bobby Flay’s Avocado-Corn Relish and his Crunchy Avocado Salad.  I thought combining corn and avocado in a fresh salad was a yummy idea so I couldn’t resist drawing from these recipes to make a healthy salad.

Avocados are one of my favourite foods.  My husband… not so much.  But this recipe turned out so well he actually ate it!  I was floored.  This was a good sign.

Here’s the inspired recipe:

2 ripe avocados, cubed

2 cups corn kernels

4 ripe regular tomatos, cubed

1 handful black olives, pitted

1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 handful of flat leaf parsley, chopped

2 green onions, finely chopped

Dressing:

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 tsp paprika

1 tsp cumin, ground

Sea salt to taste

Blue Corn Chips (optional)

Assembly:

Brown the corn kernels in a pan with a little bit of olive oil.  Let the corn cool.  Then combine corn, avocado, tomatoes, olives, parsley, chickpeas and green onions.  In a bowl combine dressing ingredients and whisk.  Pour dressing over salad and toss lightly.

If I had blue corn chips, I would have crushed them and sprinkled them on top just before eating for that added “crunch” value.  That would have been awesome.  I’ll do that next time.

— This recipe tastes even better the next day once the flavours have “married.”

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

