Raw Vegan Cheesecake

Raw Vegan Cheesecake with Mango topping

I felt inspired this weekend to whip up one of my old favourites… a raw vegan cheesecake.

This yummy superstar of the raw vegan world has many variations.  It’s great because it’s dairy free, it’s easy to make and it’s no bake.  Plus, the “cheesecake” part is a great base for any fruit topping… I can’t wait to use fresh strawberries in this recipe come June.

I know this recipe may look a bit involved…but i made this with my toddler “helping” from the sidelines, and my infant snoozing in the playpen… I was hoping to do this before the baby woke up and I managed to get it all done in about 20 minutes.  So fear not!  🙂

Here’s how it went down…

1) A little prep.

I soaked 2 + 1/2 cups of raw cashews in water overnight in the fridge.  If you don’t remember this step, the cashews just have to soak for a couple of hours… so you can do this step the same day, too.  Raw cashews can be found at a bulk food store in the nut section.

—-The cashews are what make the cheesecake instead of cream cheese.

Now… a note…  I used a high powered blender to finish my cheesecake “batter”.  This gets the batter really silky.  If you don’t have a strong, high powered blender, then the suggestion to help get a silky batter is to grind the cashews in a seed until you have a fine powdery cashew meal.  Don’t soak this… just use it in the recipe in place of the soaked cashews.

2) Into the Food Processor

Cashews, drained of their water

1 cup coconut oil, melted

3/4 cup lemon juice

3/4 cup unpasturized honey*

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp sea salt

Process in food processor until it’s as smooth as it’s gonna get.

3) Into the Blender

I poured it into the blender in batches to go easy on it.  The blender will thicken the batter and, although it can handle it, I’m considerate of my helpers!  🙂

Blend until smooth and silky, transfer to bowl.

4) Make the “Crust”

1 cup mejdool dates

1/2 cup pecans + 1/2 cup almonds

Throw into food processor and blend until crumbly.

5) Assemble

Press the crumbled crust ingredients into the bottom of a small spring form pan.  Press firmly and cover the pan to make a thin bottom layer.

Spoon the batter over the crust.

Pop in  the fridge for at least 1 hour to set.

Serve with a pureed fruit coulis.  This can be 1 + 1/2 cup of any fruit blended to a puree with 2 tbsp of honey*.

I made mine with a Mango topping… the mangos looked soooo good at the grocery store and the mangos I found were sweet and tangy.

The end result is a dreamy refreshing cheesecake!  Enjoy!

*Honey is not considered a true vegan food ingredient because it is an animal by-product.  For a pure vegan option, agave or maple syrup can be used.

Leave a Reply

