Fresh Fruit Salad

When I was a kid I used to love the Del Monte fruit salad.  Pieces of pineapple, pears, peaches (and grapes, I think?) in a syrup out of a can.  Gosh, fruit was so tasty after bathing in syrup!  I can now appreciate that even though this was a fruit snack, it wasn’t the most nutritious.

Thankfully, I’ve had some inspiration along the way when it comes to fruit salad.  A long time dear friend, who also went to Naturopathic Med school with me and shared space in residence, would dazzle me with her fresh made chopped fruit salad.  Ok… sounds simple and obvious… yes… but you know how the simple things catch my attention.

She would chop up a fantastic rainbow of fruit and mix it all together.  It looked and smelled delicious!  It was fresh, full of nutrients, fiber and flavour.

So… as I round the corner in my first month of 90 days sugar free… I share my fruit salad recipe.  This little salad has helped get me through snack time, especially those days when I’m looking for something sweet and satisfying.  It’s so simple it’s silly, but hopefully it’s just a reminder of how great simple things can be.

Here’s how it went down…

– 1 chopped pineapple

– 2 chopped pears, ripe (peel removed)

– 2 chopped apples (peel removed)

– a bunch of organic grapes

– juice from 1/2 lemon

I mixed these fruit together in a large tupperware and squeezed the lemon juice over it all.  Then I sealed the container and gave it a good shake.  The lemon juice will help prevent the apples and pears from turning brown, as a natural preservative, it will cut the sweetness of the pineapple and give the fruit a really nice fresh edge to the flavour.

I’ve had this fruit salad keep its freshness for up to 5 days in the fridge.  Then again, it didn’t last that long… so it may last longer with the lemon juice added.  ;P

I would add whole berries when they are in season.  The steroidal strawberries this time of year freak me out a bit.

Many different fruit would work well for this… peaches, kiwi, cantaloupe, watermelon, mango, papaya… basically any fleshy fruit.

Leave a Reply

