Sweet Relief: Update 1 + Rapini Recipe

Image

Some of you might be wondering how my 90 days of sugar free living is going.  So far, so good!  I really had my mind made up the moment I decided to cut sugar out of my diet for 90 days, and that’s really been a big factor in my success so far.

What’s helped keep my sweet cravings down?  As usual…keeping it simple…The Basics:

– Balanced, regular meals

– Keeping my fiber up (see below: vegetables, beans, fruit, ground flax seed, nuts)

– Lots of Green Vegetables (see my new recipe below)

– Healthy Snacks

–> Yummy Vegan Smoothies with Vega Protein Powder (like this one), fresh fruit, homemade fruit salad, edamame out of the pod, nuts, my homemade granola, Mary’s Organic Crackers or raw carrot sticks (I’m on a carrot kick!) + my homemade hummus, apple slices and almond butter, the occasional Lara Bar

– Plenty of water

– Regular Exercise

     –> Research shows that exercise helps to normalize blood sugar levels, which can help reduce sugar cravings

…still going strong… I’ll keep you posted!  🙂

HEARTY RAPINI

For tonight’s dinner, I made a delicious side dish using Rapini (aka Broccoli Rabe).  Rapini can be a bit tricky to cook and enjoy because they tend to be a bit bitter.  Actually, bitter vegetables, similar to bitter flavoured herbal remedies, are really good for the liver.  The plant nutrients help stimulate liver function and can facilitate liver and gallbladder detoxification.  Knowing that still doesn’t help make them palatable for many people.  However, blanching them in boiling water before serving them, or using them in a recipe, can help reduce the bitterness.

Here’s how it went down…

Image

Chopped and washed Rapini.  Blanched in a pot of boiling water until tender.  I don’t overcook my rapini as I find it makes it very mushy.

Sautee onions until golden brown.  Add the cooked rapini and sautee together.  Add Romano Beans (drained and rinsed from can, or if prepared in advance from dried) and sautee with the veggies.

Season with sea salt and enjoy!  I also LOVE hot sauce + rapini to add a little kick.

Some little additions that would work well…

– Add some minced garlic to the onions

– Add a splash of vegetable or chicken broth to sautee with for bolder flavour

– Add a sprinkle of cayenne pepper to the dish while it’s sautéing to really release some heat, or sprinkled over the finished dish

– Use a different kind of bean

– Serve over rice, rice pasta, millet or quinoa

One comment

  1. Jackie · April 15, 2013

    great simple dish. Had great flavor, I served mine with Quinoa

Leave a Reply

