Smothered Kale

When talking food, I realize the word “smothered” might often brings to mind a melted cheese dish of epic proportions.  Although this recipe contains no cheese, and is just a simple dish of kale, it’s really delicious and is healthier than the conventional “smothered” anything.

This recipe for kale came out of inspiration from a recipe I found from Rachael Ray’s collection.  Coincidentally, Rach is known for smothering cheese on things… but this dish is surprisingly simple, healthy and tasty. Good work Rachel!  Of course, I tweaked my version a bit to make it simpler and healthier, but it came out just as yummy.  We ate it the first night as a side dish and then next day I put it over brown rice for lunch, and its flavour jazzed up the plain rice beautifully.

The reason why it’s called “smothered” is because of the way it’s cooked… read on…

SMOTHERED KALE

Drizzel of Olive Oil

1/2 onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic minced (I run the cloves over a microplane to make it into a paste)

1 bunch of kale, washed

Vegetable broth

Himalayan sea salt

I cut the kale up horizontally.  This time I kept the stems intact because this recipe cooks them so they are tender.

I chopped the onion and micro-planed the garlic.  See my homemade garlic paste.  🙂

In a pan, with a drizzle of olive oil, I sauté the onions and garlic until they turn a golden brown.

Into the hot pan, I threw the chopped kale.  I moved it around a bit over the heat so the leaves turn a bright green.  Then I gather up all the leaves in the centre and put a smaller lid on them.  This is the Smothering part!  The smaller lid crushes the leaves down and steams them at the same time.

I keep an eye on the pan to make sure the leaves don’t burn.  I’m cooking the kale on a medium heat level.  I’ll lift the lid every now and then to turn the leaves and ensure they cook evenly.  The leaves will shrink as they cook.

Once I see the leaves have wilted, I add a little bit of vegetable stock to the pan.  This will pick up all the flavour of the onions and garlic, and will help the kale cook the last little bit until it’s tender.  It will also add a really great kick of flavour to the kale.

I cooked the kale until it was tender but not falling apart.  I seasoned it with a little sea salt to taste and that was it.  This recipe took me about 15 minutes to make from start to end.  I love quick and simple greens that taste great, too!

Leave a Reply

