Super Greens!

Here’s a great way to prepare Collard Greens and Swiss Chard… that’s got a bit more pizzazz than just serving them up as an individual veggie.  I’m “the more the merrier” kind of gal, and this works its way into today’s recipe.

I prepared the dish I photographed with Swiss Chard, but again, I’ve made this with Collard Greens and it worked out just as beautifully.  The only exception was the way I chopped the Collard Greens… which I’ll note below.

Here’s how it went down…

SUPER GREENS!

 

1) I cut the Swiss Chard leaves horizontally into strips all the way to the end, including the stalk.  Swiss chard cooks really quickly because its very tender.  I like to include the stalk when cooking Swiss Chard because of this reason.

Collard Greens are more tough, and so if I’m short on time and need to cook it quickly, the stalk is often really tough and not very appetizing.  So I’ll cut it out like I do with kale, and then slice it horizontally.

 

2) Next, I quickly blanch the leafy green in boiling water for about 2-3 minutes.

 

3) Transfer the leafy green to a pan where I sautéed a little onion, corn and peas (from frozen) in Vegetable Stock.

4) I continue to sautee it all together, adding a little vegetable stock as needed to lend flavour and prevent it from sticking to the pan.

5) Finally, I add lentils to the mix.  The greens, corn, peas and lentils are all in equal parts.

 

And the homemade Super Greens! medley is done… in about 15 minutes!  Season with sea salt to taste if needed.

As always, this recipe can be switched up by using different beans rather than lentils, or adding shelled edamame rather than peas, or using chopped carrots to add sweetness rather than corn… the possibilities are endless, but the most important thing is that we have a really delicious and appealing recipe for our green leafy vegetables.  With a recipe like this, and with the switch ups, I can easily prepare a green leafy vegetable 2-3 times a week, which leaves the other days for broccoli, cauliflower, Brussels Sprouts, green beans, etc…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

