Happy Family Day!

I’m back from a little blogging hiatus last week!  Just a little computer vay-cay for a variety of reasons.  It was nice to take a break, but it’s also nice to be back.

With Spring on its way, and with me trying to stick to my New Years Resolution of keeping up healthy eating, I am inspired to share recipes over the next 3 Mondays that consist of those dark green leafy veggies that I sometimes have a tough time finding new ways to prepare.  Other than in soups, and eating them cooked on their own, the dark green leafy veggies like spinach, swiss chard, collard greens and kale can at times be hard to find recipes for.  In my search for new ways to cook them, I found many recipes call for adding some sort of flavoring meat to them.  But… in my habit of tweaking recipes… I came up with some great ways to cook them without the meat and adding great flavor to them.

Today’s veggie: Spinach.  Next week will be collard greens and the week after I’ll do kale.  Three different recipes… although with each one I can use any of the greens I’ll be writing about.  And… as always, these recipes are quick and healthy!  Enjoy!

SWEET SPINACH

This is a super fast recipe that yields a dish that is deliciously sweet because of the baby tomatoes and satisfying because of the fiber and substance that the white kidney beans add.  This one’s always a hit at our house!  

First… in a little olive oil and a splash of water, sauté washed, organic spinach leaves.

Next, add baby tomatoes…and cover with a lid.  Saute a little longer together until the tomatoes soften up.

Finally add white kidney beans to the pan.  Stir together and cook a little longer until the beans are heated.
Season with sea salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

