You Say Potato, I say Kohlrabi

Roasted root vegetables give me the warm fuzzies.

For years, my most favourite food was roasted potatoes.  That was until I found out that I was intolerant to potatoes through specialized testing.  I was sad to give them up, but surprisingly, avoiding potato helped me overcome some nagging health issues I was experiencing at the time.

That being said… my palate for vegetables come a long way since then!

There are so many veggies that have a healthier nutrient profile than potatoes, and are just as delicious when roasted.  Perhaps the most popular roasted veg, as a alternative to potatoes (and sweet potatoes), is butternut squash. But today, I’m shining a light on an underdog: Kohlrabi!

Kohlrabi is a green vegetable, with green leafy tops and a bulb on the bottom.  They are part of the Brassica family; the same family that broccoli, cauliflower, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, kale and collard greens.  The Brassica vegetables are rich with phytonutrients that are important for liver detoxification, estrogen balance and cancer prevention.

I happen to find kohlrabi being sold at the grocery store last week, so I was inspired to cook it.

It’s like 2 vegetables in 1!  So, since I’m a big fan of 2 vegetables at dinner, this was a quick and easy way for me to prep 1 vegetable, with 2 different components, for 2 different veggie sides for our meal one night.

Here’s how it went down:

I cut off the green leafy tops from the bulbs.

GREEN VEG DISH #1: Leafy Tops

I washed the leafy stems, put a pot of water to boil on the stove and dropped the leafy greens into the water.  I let those boil until they were tender and dressed them with a little lemon juice, olive oil and sea salt that was emulsified with a little dijon mustard.  Green veg dish #1 done.

GREEN VEG DISH #2: Roasted Bulbs

I pre-heated my oven to 425 F, chopped off the ends of the bulbs, peeled off the tough outer skin, then chopped them coarsely.

I placed the chopped bulbs in a roasting pan, drizzled them with olive oil, dusted them with a little garlic powder and sea salt and placed them in the oven.  They roasted for 45 minutes, with me turning them about every 10 minutes so they would all have a chance to roast.

And… here they are!

Roasted Kohlrabi bulbs are sweet once cooked.  Their texture is similar to potatoes.  These were so delicious!

Some variations that I thought would work nicely with this vegetable were:

– adding whole garlic cloves to roast with the kohlrabi instead of using garlic powder

– adding sliced onion to roast with it

– adding red or yellow bell pepper to roast with it

Kohlrabi can be eaten cooked, like in this recipe, or raw, as a slaw-like salad, and there are many quick and easy online recipes for this great vegetable.  Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

