Pure Pudding

This is the first of 3 Monday Recipe posts as part of my holiday Chocolate Countdown.  I love chocolate and with the holidays coming it gives me a chance to make my favourite healthy chocolate deserts and treats.  I hope you find them tasty and helpful!  

As a kid I loved chocolate pudding as a snack.  Even now, many kids love pudding.  Hello Jello?!

I have this simple homemade pudding recipe that is very delicious and equally nutritious!  Pudding isn’t the first thing that comes to mind when thinking of nutritious snacks, but this pudding is made from a few ingredients, with the main ingredient being avocado.  You’d never know it though!  It is the beauty of this recipe.

As a side note… Avocados are richly nutritious.  They are a good source of fiber, a good source of healthy essential fatty acids and contain a variety of other vitamins and nutrients.

This recipe makes a great snack for kids and a great decadent desert for adults.  It’s rich, creamy and chocolatey.  I love to serve this with fresh sliced bananas, or when they are in season, raspberries or other berries.  I’ve layered the pudding and the fruit making a parfait-like desert that is so heavenly and healthy!

Here’s how it went down…

I combined in one bowl:

1 avocado

1/4 cup raw cacao powder

4 tbsp maple syrup (or less depending on desired sweetness)

1 tsp vanilla extract

I used my hand blender to blend it smooth.

Then I gave some to my little guy for a treat and he approved.  Phew… ok… passed the kid test… if he liked it, it must be good.  🙂

It didn’t last long!  🙂

Variations:

– add a mashed ripe banana into it

– layer with fresh fruit

– add a tablespoon of coconut oil – this can thicken and harden the the pudding when refrigerated… it can be used as a healthy icing or topping

– add a little peppermint extract to make a mint chocolate pudding

– mix in ground flax seed to get an extra serving of fiber

One comment

  1. Marilyn Dye · August 11, 2012

    This was actually quite light and delightful…….

Leave a Reply

