WIN-ning Wednesday: Midwives Rock!

We welcomed our newest addition to our family on Sunday morning!

A baby is such a miraculous joy.  I am grateful that my new baby boy had a healthy arrival to this life of ours.  I have a profound gratitude for the care I had during the birth by my Midwife team.

I had planned a home birth for my first baby, but things didn’t go as planned, and our attending Midwife, Krystie, advised we go to the hospital.  I safely delivered our baby and we had outstanding care.

For our second baby, I had planned a home birth, but was a bit reluctant based on what happened the first time.  (scroll down to see where I had the baby this time around!)  Whether its a home or hospital birth a woman is interested in, Midwives can deliver a baby at either location depending on the mother’s choice.

Along the way, from the first visit to the delivery to the 6 weeks of postpartum care (which includes home visits during the first week), they go above and beyond in their care and health teaching.  Midwives are professionally trained at the university level.  Midwifery care is covered by OHIP in Ontario.  Finally, their level of expertise in pregnancy, labour and delivery and newborn care is that of an Obstetrician.

They view pregnancy and labour as a natural and normal process, and they facilitate a birth in humanistic, pro-active way.  Every woman is individually considered during their visits (first visit is an hour, follow ups are a half hour) and they make use of the same tests, screening and monitoring as an Ob while supporting women interested in having a natural child birth.

Birthing a baby is an incredibly challenging experience.  In my experience, my Midwives have supported me, coached me and educated me to give me the strength and confidence I needed to go into a birth.  I am so fortunate to have had the experience of working with them.

For anyone considering working with a midwife, or for anyone who has a woman in your life who is expecting a baby and is working with a Midwife and you want to learn more about it, you can read more about them by clicking the link below.

Thank you Team A from Sage Femmes Renaissance Midwifery – Kelly, Krystie, Melissa and a very extra special thanks to Mylene and Ali who helped us have a healthy delivery of our new baby boy (At home! Yay!) on Sunday!  Words cannot express how profoundly thankful we are to you!

Stay tuned… next week’s WIN-ning Wednesday I’ll talk about why I chose to have my baby at home.

2 comments

  1. melissa · November 18, 2011

    hi laura! turns out when you google your name, your blog link is not hard to find! just wanted to say thanks for the shout out (i feel so ~internet famous~). great post! 🙂

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · November 20, 2011

      Hi Melissa! I’m glad you found the post! You’ve been so wonderful with your care for us. Thank you again for everything!

Leave a Reply

