Zest For Summer

I’m so inspired by this summer weather!  My hubby is joining a group of friends early tomorrow morning for a long distance road ride on his bike.  Afterwards, my son and I are meeting him back at the home of one of the riders for a group lunch and pool party.  Isn’t this season so much fun?!  I’m looking forward to it.

 

Naturally, when there’s a party, there’s food…. and summer food is the best!  I’m bringing a fresh fruit and arugula salad, and I just made the dressing ahead of time.  It’s in the fridge chillin’ getting ready for it’s mingle with the salad tomorrow.  The dressing is a zesty sweet Orange & Lemon dressing.  I used an organic orange and lemon that were so juicy and colourful.  They smelled and tasted delicious!

Here’s how it went down…

Zesty Summer Dressing

1/4 cup fresh squeezed juice from an Orange

1/4 cup fresh squeezed juice from Lemons + about a teaspoon of lemon zest 

 

 

1/4 cup minced red onion or shallots

 

1/2 cup olive oil

1 tablespoon raw unpasturized honey

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon of pepper

 

I throw all the ingredients in to a shaker cup, give it a good shake and put it in the fridge for later.

Dress salad no more than 1 hour before serving to prevent a wilted mushy salad.  😦

Enjoy!  🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

