7 Layer Salad

I made this delish salad yesterday.  We were looking for a light dinner and had this along with some vegetable soup and cooked veggies.  The salad was hearty and satisfying… a definite crowd pleaser.  And it’s versatile… so many possible ingredient combinations!

First I prepped the ingredients…I had a hankering for caramelized onions… so I sauteed some onions until golden brown.  Once I saw them get a bit golden, I took them off the heat and added 1 teaspoon of raw honey.  They cooked the rest of the way with the heat from the pan and turned beautiful brown and glossy.

I decided on the other major players:

– Creamy white beans  (other options: any other bean, tuna, grilled chicken)

– Tender-crisp cooked broccoli  (other options: raw broccoli, raw cauliflower, steamed asparagus, green beans, roasted eggplant)

– Sun dried Tomato  (other options: raw tomato, roasted red pepper)

– Avocado

– Walnuts …oops… absent from this picture!  (other options: slivered almonds, pecan pieces, sunflower seed, etc…)

– Organic Baby Romain Lettuce (other options: organic spinach, endive, raddichio, finely grated cabbage)

+ the lovely sweet onions

Seven layers it is!

So… I started with a layer of lettuce leaves and just sprinkled the ingredients in as I fancied…

 

 

Then I put a new layer of salad greens on top and started the layering again.

And Voila!  A beautiful, hearty, nutrient dense, and, above all, tasty salad!  I dressed it with balsamic vinegar, olive oil and himalayan salt.  Yum!

 

Leave a Reply

