Pretty In Pink

Himalayan salt.  It’s pink.  It’s pretty.  It’s healthy?

Did you know it’s OK to salt your food!  Before someone calls the health police on me read this.

Yes… packaged, man-made, processed foods often do contain high amounts of sodium and should be totally avoided.  Sodium chloride is the most processed form of salt and it’s not good for us.  Most commercially used salt is made when it is exposed to processing and high heat that chemically strips it of most of all its natural minerals.   In this state, salt is identified by the human body as “foreign.”  Not a good thing.

Along with regular table salt, foods also contain sodium chloride include canned soup, packaged soup mix, frozen dinners, salad dressing, fast food, snack food, crackers… etc…

When I first realized this issue with salt, I was also shocked when I checked out my table salt package and found dextrose, a sugar, was also listed!  Other artificial ingredients can be added to regular manufactured table salt.  It’s anybody’s guess why this would happen… but that’s modern food manufacturing, baby.

I thought I would cut salt out all together, but my cooking would be so boring!

Then I was doubly shocked to learn that salt can be good!  This went completely against what the media was telling me.

But it’s true!  However… there’s a twist.

Salt is essential for life.  It’s part of our biochemical make-up.  We can’t live without it!

Yes… white salt, table salt, iodized salt, added sodium chloride… not healthy and should be omitted.  This is the stuff linked to high blood pressure, water retention, cellulite formation, kidney strain, gout, arthritis, gallbladder stones and buggers up our physiology in many other ways that I promise (again) not to get into here!

Natural salt, like pink Himalayan salt or grey celtic sea salt, has all its minerals intact.  The minerals are very small in form, known as “colloidal” minerals.  In this small size the body can readily utilize them.  In natural unprocessed salt, all the minerals are in the right balance, which also promotes the body’s ability to identify it as something harmonious, rather than foreign.

Keep in mind… just because a label says “sea salt” doesn’t mean it’s natural.  Natural salt is pigmented (pink or grey).

A little sprinkle for flavour at the end of cooking or added to recipes will do my body good.

I always knew there was something special about things that are Pretty In Pink.

And since I’m rambling on about things that are Pretty In Pink…here’s Pretty In Pink.  I’ll throw some John Hughes/Molly Ringwald in where I can.

PS… secret crush on Ducky… let’s keep that between us.  😉

2 comments

  1. Lee · April 22, 2011

    great post Dr. Laura. I would love to hear your opinion of drinking brine made with Himalayan salt. I have done it a few times and feel great but is it a good thing to do? I read that it helps to expel materials from the lungs. A few months ago, I drank brine for a few days and then one night I coughed up some mucus and I am wondering if it was related…

    • Dr. Laura Imola, BSc, ND (Licensed) · April 22, 2011

      Hi Lee… I’m not familiar with the therapeutic effect of drinking brine made from Himalayan salt. Glad to hear you enjoyed the post, though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

