Rushed… and making time to eat!

I was scurrying around this morning trying to give my little guy breakfast and pack up our stuff to make it on time for Michelle’s yoga class.  I quickly whipped up one of my most favourite smoothies.  A fast, nutritious and DELICIOUS smoothie.  This gave me energy for the class and held me over until I had lunch at noon.  Breakfast is so important to me, so I always make time to eat.  Now with a toddler, time is of the essence, so I’ve got to be creative in order to have something that tastes good and is healthy.  Here is today’s go of it.

CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER SMOOTHIE

I threw in:

1 frozen banana

1 tablespoon of each: Organic Hemp seeds, Coconut Oil, Peanut Butter (any nut or seed butter can be used — almond, cashew, sunflower, tahini, etc…)

A couple Medjool Dates

Then in went my favourite protein powder.  I like Brendan Braizer’s Vega protein powder.  Some love it, some hate it.  I happen to love it.  It’s a whole foods, plant based protein powder (ie. no whey) and when blended into a smoothie containing other flavorful things, to me, it disappears.  Of course, I used the chocolate powder, which made this smoothie nice and chocolately.

Blend it up…

Who needs an Aero Bar?

A quick healthy start to my day… It was so easy I managed to photograph it while I was doing it…

AND… I made it to my yoga class on time with lots of energy and focus.

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

